La Liga

The Spanish National Football League, better known as Primera División in Spain, La Liga in English-speaking countries and officially known as LaLiga Santander for sponsorship, is the top professional men’s soccer league in Spain. Managed by the Liga National Professional Football League, which has 20 teams, at the end of each season, the three lowest teams are promoted to the Segunda Division and replaced by the league’s top two teams and playoff winners.

La Liga
LaLiga Santander (2).svg
Organising body Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional
(La Liga)
Founded 1929; 92 years ago
Country Spain
Confederation UEFA
Number of teams 20
Level on pyramid 1
Relegation to Segunda División
Domestic cup(s) Copa del Rey
Supercopa de España
International cup(s) UEFA Champions League
UEFA Europa League
UEFA Europa Conference League
Current champions Atlético Madrid (11th title)
Most championships Real Madrid (34 titles)
Most appearances Andoni Zubizarreta
Top goalscorer Lionel Messi
TV partners List of broadcasters
Current: 2021–22 La Liga 



La Liga Latest News

Back to top button